Easy Spaghetti Carbonara

Sorry about the delay in posting my weekly blog post! I had a maths exam on friday, and so I didn’t have time to write up, edit and publish my post on time. After asking you on Twitter which alternative day you wanted it on, the majority of you chose Sunday and so here it is!

Today’s recipe isn’t too strange, neither difficult to make. In fact, I wanted to make something incredibly easy to make for dinner, and this is perfect for when you want a healthy meal with only a few ingredients. The addition of spinach freshens the dish up, and the substitution of german salami for pancetta makes the dish stand out. The lack of the need for eggs/cream to make this dish is also perfect if you want a healthier alternative for this classic dish.

I hope you enjoy it, and please do give me suggestions of any recipes you want me to do in the future!

 

Ingredients (to serve 4):

  • 300g spaghetti (fresh or dry, according to preference)
  • 1 red onion, diced
  • 1 clove of garlic, finely chopped
  • 50g flour
  • 50g butter
  • 350ml milk
  • German salami, to taste (I used around a handful of small cubes)
  • 100g spinach
  • 100ml white wine (optional)
  • parmesan cheese, for serving

img_20160605_093846.jpg

Method:

  1. In a medium saucepan, fry the red onion and garlic in a little oil for around 2-3 minutes
  2. Add the German salami and spinach, stir and remove from the heat. Place a lid on top of the pan to keep warm.
  3. In a separate saucepan, melt the butter and add the flour. Mix until fully combined into a ball, and then cook for 1-2 minutes on a medium heat.dsc_0005_20.jpg
  4. Add the milk slowly and whisk to ensure that no lumps remain
  5. When the sauce has thickened (which will take around 1-2 minutes), add the contents of the other saucepan and combine. If adding white wine, add at this point. Remove from the heat.dsc_0006_20.jpg
  6. In a pan, cook the pasta according to the instructions. When cooked, drain and add the carbonara sauce. Stir to combine fully.
  7. Serve, with grated parmesan cheese on top – a perfect dish in under 20 minutes!

 

Tips:

  1. If you want your spinach to be fully wilted, cook for around 1 minute over a low heat before putting to one side.
  2. Box up any extra carbonara and freeze for future use!

 

P.S. sorry for the bad quality photo – I only realised after eating the pasta, and so I couldn’t take it again!

12 thoughts on “Easy Spaghetti Carbonara

  1. Hi there!

    I have never made carbonara before and it’s something that I’ve always wanted to try. After reading this post, I’m definitely going to give it a go!

    P.S. Hope your maths exam wasn’t too painful!

    J

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post! This is almost the way I make Carbonara myself, except that I use ham instead of salami. Even though I do not think that spinach belongs into a Carbonara. But this is to everybodys taste. If you want it even more light use half water half milk and season with a good pinch of nutmeg.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

