Lavender Crème Brulée

Hi again guys! It’s the bank holiday now (and also half term for me – hooray!). After looking today at my poll statistics on my twitter (@greencooking99) it seems that you want me to post in the afternoon on Friday’s. I’ll wait until the poll ends to make my final decision about when to post every week, but I’ll stick with the current results for this time.

 

For today, I decided to make a lavender crème brulée – I had loads of double cream that needed using up, and we have fresh lavender planted in our garden which is starting to flower, so I thought it would be the perfect time to try this delicate and fresh tasting dessert. I hope you enjoy it!

 

Ingredients:

  • 500ml double cream
  • 1 vanilla pod
  • a handful of lavender buds
  • 5 egg yolks
  • 100g caster sugar
  • 50g light brown muscovado sugar

 

 

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 150C fan/170C conventional oven
  2. Pour the cream into a medium saucepan. Scrape the vanilla from the centre of the pod and add to the cream along with the lavender buds. Then add the rest of the pod, cut in 4.
  3. Heat for around 5-10 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the cream starts to boil. Remove from the heat.wp-1464348150373.jpg
  4. In a mixing bowl, whisk the caster sugar with the egg yolks until smooth. Reheat the cream until it boils again, and then whisk into the egg/sugar mix.wp-1464348130199.jpg
  5. When the mixture is fully whisked, pour into 6 ramekins. Place these in a baking tray filled with hot water.
  6. Place in the oven and cook for around 40 minutes
  7. Remove from the oven and allow to cool. Refrigerate until time of use.
  8. Before serving, sprinkle the light brown muscovado sugar over the brulées and then grill for 2-3 minutes, until the sugar turns golden brown.
  9. Serve!

 

Tips:

  • If you have a kitchen blowtorch, use this instead of step 8 (it will get a faster and more satisfying brulée!)
  • Use the egg whites for other recipes, such as my Banana Soufflés
  • In step 8, if using a grill, place the brulées in a baking tray filled with cold water so that the brulées don’t melt when browning the sugar.
27 thoughts on “Lavender Crème Brulée

  1. Thank you for sharing this. It’s lovely. Lavender I’d my favorite flower to cook or bake with. My family makes fun of me. I don’t think they can get over the roasted chicken with lavender I made. I’ll have to make your creme brulee sometime this week. 😄

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It is nice to see some recipes including flowers (lavender) I spoke about that in yesterdays blog post wild roses and lavender 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey! Thanks for visiting my grievingcookingcoping blog, I really appreciate it. Looks like you have some interesting recipes here. I wonder if you would mind me using one of your recipes one time in the future, and posting a link to your site? I kind of review the recipe (have a look at my posts to see what I mean) and the food and my own cooking ability xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

