Pasta and Meatballs with Okra and Chilli

I wanted to make pasta and meatballs recently, but wanted it to be slightly different. Looking at all the food in my fridge, I decided to make a regular meatballs and pasta but with the addition of okra (‘witches fingers’) and chilli, and I also used whole-wheat pasta as an alternative to regular pasta. I have to say, I thought it was amazing! Not only did it taste great, it was also incredibly easy to make and healthy too.

 

Ingredients (for 4):

  • 300g whole-wheat pasta
  • 1 can chopped tomatoes
  • 2 x carrots
  • 1 x red onion
  • 1 x red or green pepper
  • 25 x okra (around 1 pack)
  • 1tsp Italian seasoning
  • 1 x small chilli
  • 1tsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1tsp sugar
  • 1 x pack of meatballs (I used lamb)
  • parmesan cheese for serving

Method:

  1. Cut the red onion into small pieces and fry over a medium heat until they are soft
  2. Cut the carrots into small chunks and add to the onion, cooking for around 3 minutes
  3. Cut the pepper into slices, and cut each okra into 3 pieces. Add to the carrots/onion, stirring for around 2 minutes
  4. Add the Italian seasoning and chopped chilli (with or without seeds depending on preference)
  5. Add the meatballs, stirring carefully for around 5 minutes until browned
  6. After the meatballs have browned, add the balsamic vinegar, sugar and chopped tomatoes. Leave to simmer for around 15-20 minutes
  7. In another saucepan, add boiling water and around 1tsp salt, and wait for the water to come to the boil again
  8. Add the pasta and cook until tender (around 10 minutes)
  9. Drain the pasta, add to the serving bowls and add the meatballs with sauce on top
  10. Sprinkle over some parmesan cheese and serve

Tips:

  • When adding the meatballs, be careful not to stir too hard otherwise they will start to fall apart
  • To achieve a thicker sauce, leave the saucepan lid off while simmering to allow some of the liquid to evaporate
  • If using normal pasta, consult the packet for cooking times as this normally takes a shorter time to cook compared to whole-wheat pasta
11 thoughts on “Pasta and Meatballs with Okra and Chilli

  1. Hi Will,
    I read your ‘about’. You remind me of my son. I taught him to prepare meals from scratch at age 10. He is now 22 and in college. This skill has served him well.
    I’m very impressed with your work.
    Your recipes look delicious and creative. Keep on this path my friend.
    Thanks for the like 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I think a lot about how much it helped my life in general to know how to cook. At all stages so far. I like it because I’m creative, but also it has saved me money, helped me connect with people, impress my (now) husband, and so much more. I really love that you are sharing your creations! You’re way ahead of what I could do at 16.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

